

OFFICIAL BALLOT General Election Guthrie County, Iowa Tuesday, November 5, 2024 Valley



INSTRUCTIONS TO VOTERS

Using blue or black ink, completely fill in the oval next to your choice like this:

Write-in: To vote for a valid write-in candidate, write the person's name on the line provided and darken the oval.

Notice to voters: To vote to approve any question on this ballot, fill in the oval in front of the word "Yes". To vote against a question, fill in the oval in front of the word "No".

Do not cross out. If you change your mind, exchange your ballot for a new

The Judicial Ballot is located on the back of this ballot in the left column.

The Constitutional Amendments are located on the back of this ballot in the middle and right column.

Political Organizations

Democratic Party (DEM)

Republican Party (REP)

Libertarian Party (LIB)

Party for Socialism and Liberation (PSL) Socialist Party USA (SOC)

We The People (WTP)

Federal Offices

A ballot cast for the named candidates for president and vice president of the United States is considered to be cast for the slate of presidential electors nominated by the political party, nonparty political organization, or independent candidate.

For President and **Vice President**

Vote for no more than ONE Team

Kamala D. Harris
Tim Walz

Donald J. Trump JD Vance

LIB Chase Oliver Mike ter Maat

REP

PSL

Emily Donovan

(Write-in vote, if any)

(Write-in vote, if any)

(Write-in vote, if any)

Claudia De la Cruz Karina Garcia SOC

William P. Stodden Stephanie H. Cholensky Robert F. Kennedy Jr WTP

Nicole Shanahan Shiva Ayyadurai

Crystal Ellis

(Write-in vote for President, if any)

(Write-in vote for Vice President, if any)

00303 For United States Representative **District 3** Vote for no more than One Lanon Baccam REP Zach Nunn (Write-in vote, if any) State Offices For State Senator **District 24** Vote for no more than One **Margaret Liston** REP Jesse Green (Write-in vote, if any) For State Representative **District 47** Vote for no more than One Joe Shelly Carter Nordman (Write-in vote, if any) **County Offices** For County Auditor Vote for no more than One Dani Fink (Write-in vote, if any) For County Sheriff Vote for no more than One **Marty Arganbright** REP **Matt Harmann** (Write-in vote, if any) Non Partisan Offices For Valley Township Trustee Vote for no more than Two Bryan Mowrer Paul Finnegan (Write-in vote, if any) (Write-in vote, if any) For Hospital Trustee Vote for no more than Three Douglas Kent Cheryl L. Marks

For Soil and Water Conservation						
District Commissioner						
Vote for no more than Three						
○ Bryan Coffman						
◯ Stephen D Roe						
David Deardorff						
(Write-in vote, if any)						
(write-iii vote, ii ariy)						
(Write-in vote, if any)						
(Muito in voto if any)						
(Write-in vote, if any)						
For County Agricultural Extension						
For County Agricultural Extension						
For County Agricultural Extension Council						
For County Agricultural Extension Council Vote for no more than Four						
For County Agricultural Extension Council Vote for no more than Four Carol Wendl						
For County Agricultural Extension Council Vote for no more than Four Carol Wendl Kayla Willms						
For County Agricultural Extension Council Vote for no more than Four Carol Wendl Kayla Willms Ruth Blomquist						
For County Agricultural Extension Council Vote for no more than Four Carol Wendl Kayla Willms Ruth Blomquist Dwayne Seeck						
For County Agricultural Extension Council Vote for no more than Four Carol Wendl Kayla Willms Ruth Blomquist Dwayne Seeck Genevieve McCreary						
For County Agricultural Extension Council Vote for no more than Four Carol Wendl Kayla Willms Ruth Blomquist Dwayne Seeck Genevieve McCreary						

(Write-in vote, if any)

(Write-in vote, if any)

(Write-in vote, if any)

JUDICIAL BALLOT Notice to Voters: Vote on all names by filling in the appropriate oval below each name. Shall the following Justices/Judges be retained in office? Supreme Court Justice **David May** \bigcirc NO Court of Appeals Judge Samuel Langholz \bigcirc NO **Mary Ellen Tabor** \bigcirc NO Tyler J. Buller \bigcirc NO Mary Elizabeth Chicchelly \bigcirc NO District 5A Court Judge **Bradley McCall** \bigcirc NO Terry R. Rickers igcup YES **Charles Sinnard** \bigcirc NO **David Faith** \bigcirc NO District 5A Associate Judge **Kevin Parker** Virginia Cobb

YES

 \bigcirc NO

Constitutional Amendment

Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?

1

Summary: Provides for only U.S. citizens aged 18 or older and meeting state and county residency requirements to vote in all elections. Further provides that 17-year-olds who will be 18 years old by the General Election are eligible to vote in the primary election, subject to the same citizenship and residency requirements.

Full Text: Section 1 of Article II of the Constitution of the State of Iowa, as amended by the amendment of 1970, is repealed and the following adopted in lieu thereof:

Section 1. Electors. Only a citizen of the United States of the age of eighteen years, who shall have been a resident of this state for such period of time as shall be provided by law and of the county in which the citizen claims the citizen's vote for such period of time as shall be provided by law, shall be entitled to vote at all elections which are authorized by law. However, for purposes of a primary election, a United States citizen must be at least eighteen years of age as of the next general election following the primary election. The required periods of residence shall not exceed six months in this state and sixty days in the county.

Constitutional Amendment

Shall the following amendment to the Constitution be adopted?

2

Summary: Provides that the lieutenant governor will act as the governor if there is a temporary disability of the governor. Further provides that the lieutenant governor or lieutenant governor-elect will be the governor or governor-elect in the case of the resignation, death, or permanent disability of the governor or governor-elect thus creating a vacancy in the office of lieutenant governor or lieutenant governor-elect, as appropriate.

Full Text: Section 17 of Article IV of the Constitution of the State of Iowa is repealed and the following adopted in lieu thereof:

Sec. 17. Lieutenant governor or lieutenant governor-elect to become or act as governor or governor-elect. If there is a temporary disability of the governor, the lieutenant governor shall act as governor until the disability is removed, or the governor dies, resigns, or is removed from office. In case of the death, resignation, or removal from office of the governor, the lieutenant governor shall become governor for the remainder of the term, which shall create a vacancy in the office of lieutenant governor. This section shall also apply, as appropriate, to the governor-elect and the lieutenant governor-elect.

\bigcirc	Y	Ŀ١

 \bigcirc NO

Guthrie County Public Measure IU

Shall the following public measure be adopted?

Shall the Guthrie County Board of Supervisors be authorized to implement a property tax, for a period not to exceed fifteen (15) years, for the purposes of creation and the maintaining of essential countywide emergency medical services. The amount would be \$0.75 (Seventy-Five Cents) per \$1,000.00 (One Thousand Dollars) of assessed value on all taxable property (taxable value) within the county. The reason for this program is to enhance and strengthen our essential county ambulance services through the provision of professional paramedic level emergency care, reduction of response times, and improvement of patient care outcomes. YES

•	_	•