## **Guthrie County Board of Supervisors**

Regular Session January 2, 2024

The Guthrie County Board of Supervisors met this 2nd day of January, 2024, in regular session in the meeting room at the Guthrie County Courthouse in Guthrie Center, Iowa with the following members present: Maggie Armstrong, Mike Dickson, Brian Johnson, Jerome "J.D." Kuster and Steve Smith.

The meeting came to order at 9:00 a.m.

Board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion to appoint JD Kuster as 2024 Board Chair by Smith second by Johnson. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Maggie Armstrong as 2024 Vice Chair by Smith second by Johnson. Ayes 4 Armstrong abstained.

Motion to approve consent agenda which included minutes from December 27, 2023 and payroll change notice for part-time public health new hire, Stacey Harris-Molina for \$19.50/hr. by Johnson, second by Armstrong. All ayes.

No public comments were received.

Motion to approve 2024 Paid Holiday's as follows by Armstrong second by Smith. All ayes.

Memorial Day: Monday, May 27, 2024

Independence Day: Thursday, July 4, 2024

Labor Day: Monday, September 2, 2024

Veterans Day: Monday, November 11, 2024

Thanksgiving Day and the Day After: Thursday, November 28, 2024 and Friday, November 29, 2024

Christmas Eve and Christmas: Tuesday, December 24, 2024 and Wednesday, December 25, 2024

New Year's Day: Wednesday, January 1, 2025

Motion to set 2024 Board of Supervisors Meetings for every Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. and every Thursday at 9:00 a.m. from January - March 2024 by Dickson second by Johnson. All ayes.

Board reviewed submissions for Official County Newspaper from The News Gazette and The Stuart Herald.

Motion to approve The News Gazette and The Stuart Herald as the official Guthrie County Newspapers for 2024 by Dickson second by Armstrong. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Brian Johnson, Steve Smith, Dani Fink to the Region XII Council of Governments by Dickson, second by Armstrong. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Tim Masters as Weed Commissioner by Armstrong, second by Smith. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Kuster and as an alternate, Armstrong to the New Opportunities Board by Dickson, second by Smith. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Dickson to the 5<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Department of Correctional Services by Smith, second by Armstrong. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Dickson, Kuster, and Johnson to Guthrie County Planning and Public Safety Board by Kuster, second by Smith. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Johnson, and as alternate, Smith to the Midwest Partnership Board by Armstrong, second by Dickson. All ayes.

Motion to table appointment to the Enterprise Zone Board by Dickson, second by Armstrong. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Kristine Jorgensen to the Western Iowa Tourism Region by Armstrong, second by Smith. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Kuster and as alternate, Armstrong to the Adair/Guthrie County Emergency Management Commission by Smith, second by Dickson. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Jeremy Cooper and Sheriff, Marty Arganbright, to the South-Central Regional E-911 Board by Dickson, second by Armstrong. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Josh Sebern, County Engineer, to the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA Board) by Johnson, second by Smith. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Smith to the De-categorization Governance Board by Kuster, second by Dickson. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Kuster to M&M Divide RC & D Board by Smith, second by Johnson. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Armstrong, and as alternate, Dickson to the Heart of Iowa Region Board by Smith, second by Kuster. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Armstrong to the Hungry Canyons Alliance by Kuster, second by Johnson.

Motion to appoint Josh Strehle as the Guthrie County Medical Examiner by Armstrong, second by Johnson. All ayes.

Motion to approve Dickson and Bill McDermott to the Guthrie County Board of Health for a term of 3 years ending December 31, 2026 by Kuster, second by Johnson. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Guthrie County Attorney, Dana Minteer to the Involuntary Hospitalization Board by Dickson, second by Armstrong. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Terry Laughery to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for a term of 5 years ending December 31, 2028 by Kuster, second by Johnson. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Donna Meyer to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for a term of 5 years ending December 31, 2028 by Armstrong, second by Smith. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Chris Whitaker as the Region XII Zoning Administrator by Smith, second by Dickson. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Scott Benton to the Conservation Board for a term of 5 years ending December 31, 2028 by Kuster, second by Armstrong. All ayes.

Motion to appoint Lance Levis to the Regional Airport Authority Board for a term of 4 years ending December 31, 2027 by Johnson, second by Kuster. All ayes.

Motion to approve Resolution 24-13: Resolution Appointing Members of the 2024 Compensation Commission by Armstrong second by Dickson. Motion carried on a roll call vote.

Motion to approve Resolution 24-14: Resolution Authorizing Auditor to Pay Fixed Charges and Other Claims per Iowa Code Section 331.506 without Prior Board Approval by Armstrong second by Smith. Motion carried on a roll call vote.

Motion to approve Resolution 24-15: Resolution giving the County Engineer the Right of Final Acceptance by Dickson second by Smith. Motion carried on a roll call vote.

Motion to approve Resolution 24-16: Construction Evaluation (Master Matrix for Large Animan Confinement Operations) by Johnson second by Dickson. Motion carried on a roll call vote.

Brian Hoffman, IT Administrator, joined the meeting to discuss door access at the Public Health building. \$10,000 of the cost is covered by a Grant, and the cost to the County will be \$691.00.

Motion to approve purchase from ByteSpeed for \$10,691 by Johnson second by Armstrong. All ayes.

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time, the Board adjourned at 9:44 a.m. until its regularly scheduled meeting on Thursday, January 4, 2024. Motion by Johnson second by Smith. All ayes.

J.D. Kuster, Chair Guthrie County Board of Supervisors Attest: Dani Fink Guthrie County Auditor