## Guthrie County Board of Supervisors

## **Regular Session**

October 24, 2023

The Guthrie County Board of Supervisors met this 24th day of October, 2023, in regular session in the meeting room at the Guthrie County Courthouse in Guthrie Center, Iowa with the following members present: Maggie Armstrong, Brian Johnson, Jerome "J.D." Kuster and Steve Smith. Mike Dickson was absent from the meeting.

The meeting came to order at 9:00 a.m.

Board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to approve consent agenda, minutes from October 17, 2023. Motion carried: Ayes: 4 Nays: 0.

Becky Benton did not join the meeting; she will attend next week's board meeting to discuss work comp and Iowa Communities Assurance Pool (ICAP).

Motion by Kuster second by Armstrong to approve 2023 Annual Weed Commissioners Report. Motion carried: Ayes: 4 Nays: 0.

Motion by Kuster and second by Smith to approve 2024 Weed Commissioner Appointment of Tim Masters. Motion carried: Ayes: 4 Nays: 0.

Motion by Armstrong second by Johnson to approve Resolution 24-11: Resolution Approving Final Plat of Smith Acres Minor Subdivision. Motion carried on a roll call vote: Armstrong: Aye, Johnson: Aye, Kuster: Nay, Smith: Aye, Dickson: Absent.

Jotham Arber, Health Services Director and Kent Irwin, Emergency Preparedness Coordinator, joined the meeting to discuss hiring a Coalition Coordinator. The current Coalition Coordinator is leaving, and was employed by Dallas County. Neither Dallas County or Polk County are interested in maintaining a coordinator position within their counties. Arber stated that it would have to be approved by the Board, as well as the Board of Health. Board agreed to move forward.

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time, the Board adjourned at 9:21 a.m. until its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, October 31, 2023. Motion by Kuster second by Smith. Motion carried: Ayes: 4 Nays: 0.

Brian Johnson, Chair Guthrie County Board of Supervisors Attest: Dani Fink, Guthrie County Auditor