## **Guthrie County Board of Supervisors**

Regular Session August 15, 2023

The Guthrie County Board of Supervisors met this 15th day of August, 2023, in regular session in the meeting room at the Guthrie County Courthouse in Guthrie Center, Iowa with the following members present: Maggie Armstrong, Mike Dickson, Brian Johnson, Jerome "J.D." Kuster and Steve Smith.

The meeting came to order at 9:00 a.m.

Board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Armstrong second by Johnson to approve the consent agenda, minutes from August 8, 2023 and payroll change notice for Caleb Wulf – Part-Time Dispatcher/Jailer in the amount of \$20/hr. Motion carried: Ayes: 5 Nays: 0.

Brad Halterman, Conservation Director, presented the Board with the Conservation Fiscal Year 2023 Annual Report, and minutes from the July 2023 Conservation Board meeting.

Josh Sebern, County Engineer, joined the meeting to discuss Resolution 24-06: Support of the Joint MPDG Grant Agreement and approval of a 28E Agreement for a Multimodal Project Discretionary Grant (MPDG) Project.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to approve Resolution 24-06: Support of the Joint MPDG Grant Agreement. Motion carried on a roll call vote: Dickson: Aye, Smith: Aye, Armstrong: Aye, Kuster: Aye, Johnson: Aye.

Motion by Armstrong second by Smith to approve 28E Agreement for a Multimodal Project Discretionary Grant (MPDG) Project. Motion carried: Ayes: 5 Nays: 0.

Board discussed Smith Acres Minor Subdivision after the Board tabled the topic last week to find out why the Planning & Zoning Commission denied the request for a minor subdivision. Kuster stated one of the reasons P&Z denied the request was because the land owner was not present at the meeting. The Board discussed concerns over loss of farm land/crop ground, and that they can split the property into 3 parcels without activating a minor subdivision. Additionally, they discussed not wanting to go against what the land owner wants to do with their own property.

Motion by Armstrong second by Johnson to approve Smith Acres Minor Subdivision. Motion carried: Ayes: 3 Nays: 2 (Dickson, Kuster).

Motion by Kuster second by Dickson to reappoint Steven James to the Veteran Affairs Commission for a term ending 06/30/2026. Motion carried: Ayes: 5 Nays: 0.

Motion by Armstrong second by Smith to reappoint Marty Arganbright as Regional Housing Representative from 09/01/2023 through 08/31/2024. Motion carried: Ayes: 5 Nays: 0.

There being no further business to come before the Board at this time, the Board adjourned at 9:38 a.m. until its regularly scheduled meeting on Tuesday, August 22, 2023. Motion by Kuster second by Smith. Motion carried: Ayes: 5 Nays: 0.

Brian Johnson, Chair Guthrie County Board of Supervisors Attest: Dani Fink, Guthrie County Auditor