Guthrie County Board of Supervisors

Regular Session

January 2, 2025

The Guthrie County Board of Supervisors met in regular session Thursday, January 2, 2025. The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with the following members present: Maggie Armstrong, Mike Dickson, Brian Johnson, Jerome "J.D." Kuster and Steve Smith.

Board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to appoint Maggie Armstrong as Chair of the Board of Supervisors for 2025. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Armstrong to appoint Steve Smith at Vice-Chair of the Board of Supervisors for 2025. All ayes.

Motion to approve consent agenda, which included minutes from December 31, 2024 by Smith, second by Kuster.

Motion to approve the following paid holidays for 2025 by Smith second by Dickson. All ayes.

- Memorial Day: 05/26/25
- Independence Day: 07/04/25
- Labor Day:09/01/25
- Veterans Day:11/11/25
- Thanksgiving Day and the Day After: 11/27/25 and 11/28/25
- Christmas Eve and Christmas: 12/24/25 and 12/25/25
- New Years Day: 01/01/26

Motion by Kuster second by Dickson to set board meetings in 2025 for every Tuesday and Thursday at 9:00 a.m. through March 31, 2025 and then every Tuesday at 9:00 a.m. thereafter. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Dickson to set the Official Newspapers for Guthrie County as The Stuart Herald and The News Gazette. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Dickson to set the 2025 mileage reimbursement rate at \$0.70. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to appoint Johnson, Smith and Dani Fink to Region XII Council of Governments. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Dickson to appoint Tim Masters as Weed Commissioner. All ayes.

Motion by Armstrong second by Kuster to appoint Beth Watson as the Guthrie County General Relief & VA Administrator. All ayes

Motion by Smith second by Kuster to appoint Kuster to New Opportunities and Armstrong as alternate to. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to appoint Dickson to the 5th Judicial District Department of Correctional Services. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Kuster to appoint Dickson, Johnson and Kuster to the Guthrie County Planning & Public Safety Board, unless determined there is no longer a need for this board. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to appoint Johnsont to Midwest Partnership, with Smith as Alternate. All ayes

Motion by Smith second by Kuster to appoint Brenda Dudley to the Enterprise Zone Board. All ayes.

Motion by Armstrong second by Smith to appoint Kristine Jorgensen to Western Iowa Tourism. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to appoint Armstrong to the Adair/Guthrie County Emergency Management Commission, with Smith as alternate. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to appoint Jeremy Cooper and Matt Harmann to South Central Regional E911 Board All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Dickson to appoint Josh Sebern to the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) Board. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Armstrong to appoint Smith to the Decategorization Governance Board. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to appoint Kuster to the M&M Divide, RC & D Board (Resource Conservation & Development). All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to appoint Armstrong to board for Heart of Iowa Region, with Dickson as Alternate. All ayes.

Motion by Armstrong second by Kuster to appoint Armstrong to Hungry Canyons Alliance. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Dickson to appoint Dr. Josh Strehle as Medical Examiner. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Kuster to appoint Chris Whitaker as Zoning Administrator. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to appoint Dr. Steve Bascom and Peg Snyder to the Board of Health for a 3-year term ending 12/31/27. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Johnson to appoint Dana Minteer to the Involuntary Hospitalization Board for a 1-year term to end 12/31/25. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Johnson to appoint Becky Moore to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for a 5-year term to end 12/31/29. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Kuster to appoint Pete Leiferman to the Zoning Commission, pending his acceptance of the position, for a 5-year term to end 12/31/29. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to appoint George Hemmen to the Conservation Board for a 5-year term to end 12/31/29. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Armstrong to appoint Ron Robson as Cass Township Trustee for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to appoint Mark Drake and Joni Dvorak as Dodge Township Trustee for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to appoint Don Schwartz as Highland Township Trustee for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Dickon to appoint Jason Nees and Larry Nees as Orange Township Trustee for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Armstrong to appoint Peggy Norlin as Penn Township Trustee for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Armstrong to appoint Rick Hawley as Stuart Township Trustee for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes.

Motion by Kuster second by Smith to appoint Brian Rumple and Chris Blass as Thompson Township Trustees for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes.

Motion by Johnson second by Armstrong to appoint Roger Tallman and Mark Laughery as Victory Township Trustees for a term ending 12/31/28. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Johnson to adopt Resolution 25-08: Resolution Appointing Members of the 2025 Compensation Commission. Motion carried on a roll call vote, all ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Kuster to adopt Resolution 25-09: Resolution Authorizing Auditor to Pay Fixed Charges and Other Claims per Iowa Code 331.506 without Prior Board Approval. Motion carried on a roll call vote, all ayes.

Motion by Dickson second by Smith to adopt Resolution 25-10: Resolution Giving the County Engineer the Right of Final Acceptance. Motion carried on a roll call vote, all ayes.

Motion by Johnson second by Smith to adopt Resolution 25-11: Construction Evaluation Resolution (Master Matrix for Large Confinement Operations). Motion carried on a roll call vote, all ayes.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned at 9:45 a.m. Motion by Kuster second by Smith. All ayes.

Maggie Armstrong, Chair Guthrie County Board of Supervisors Attest: Dani Fink Guthrie County Auditor