Guthrie County Board of Supervisors

Regular Session

The Guthrie County Board of Supervisors met in regular session Tuesday, October 29, 2024. The meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. with the following members present: Maggie Armstrong, Mike Dickson, Brian Johnson, Jerome "J.D." Kuster and Steve Smith.

Board recited the Pledge of Allegiance.

Motion by Johnson second by Armstrong to amend the agenda to move item 4. Appeal Zoning Administrator Decision for Building permit at 3276 268th St, Stuart. All ayes.

Jim Bagbey, property owner of 3276 268th St, Stuart, joined the meeting to discus his building permit that was denied by Zoning Administrator, Chris Whitaker. Bagbey explained that they would like to build a recreational location with cabins under his non-profit 5013C. Bagbey's non-profit benefits foster and adoptive families. Chris Whitaker joined the meeting and stated that the ordinance simply doesn't allow this, that was the basis of denying the building permit.

Motion by Smith second by Johnson to accept Zoning Administrator's denial of a building permit for 3276 268th St, Stuart. All ayes.

Motion by Armstrong second by Smith to approve consent agenda, which included minutes from October 22, 2024, claims paid October 29, 2024 in the amount of \$185,915.71 and October 25, 2024 payroll. Ayes: 4 Nays: 1 (Dickson).

Public comments were heard by Jill Albright.

Brenda Campbell, County Treasurer, presented a request for suspension of property taxes for parcel 0000996001. The Iowa State Department of Human Services sent a letter to the property owner recommending they request their property taxes be suspended until the property can be sold.

Motion by Armstrong second by Dickson to table until for further clarification on the basis of the request. All ayes.

Josh Sebern, County Engineer, presented a pledge to roadway safety action plan.

Motion by Johnson second by Armstrong to approve Guthrie County Pledge to Roadway Safety Action Plan. All ayes.

Motion by Smith second by Dickson to approve the Annual Weed Commissioners Report. All ayes.

Motion by Armstrong second by Smith to appoint Tim Masters as Weed Commissioner. All ayes.

Dickson discussed working with Tim Whipple with Ahlers and Cooney to draft a hazardous pipeline ordinance, as they have assisted other counties in drafting similar ordinances. Johnson presented the Iowa Constitution and Iowa Code Section 479B on Hazardous Liquid Pipelines and Storage Facilities. Johnson believes that those two documents make it really clear that the State is in control. Armstrong believes it would be good to meet with Whipple from Ahlers and Cooney, and hear his expert opinion.

Motion by Dickson second by Johnson to contact Tim Whipple with Ahlers and Cooney to meet with the board at an upcoming Board meeting. All ayes.

There being no further business, the Board adjourned at 10:09 a.m. Motion by Johnson second by Smith. All ayes.

J.D. Kuster, Chair Guthrie County Board of Supervisors Attest: Dani Fink Guthrie County Auditor